One Room Challenge! (Inspiration)

I am so excited to let you guys know that I am going to be participating in my very first One Room Challenge! Basically, Calling it Home challenges bloggers everywhere to make over one room in 6 weeks. And you guys know how quickly I work…this will definitely be a challenge! Especially since I am coming in on week two. Time to get to work!

When deciding which room I wanted to overhaul, I really just had to look at which rooms we haven’t touched yet. Do you have any rooms in your home that are completely neglected? Ours is definitely our laundry area. It isn’t even a complete room, more of a designated area in our garage. Out of sight, out of mind, right? Except I kind of can’t stand it. We have piled so much around our laundry area that it’s tough to get to, and there is hardly any organization. It is set up really well though, so we have that going for us!

Here is a quick sketch of our layout. Yes, it’s a two car garage. And yes, we only keep one car in there. It’s the Mustang, it needs its space.

garage-layout

The thing I really like about our laundry area is that it has its own space. That notch out in the top corner is where our water heater lives, but you can’t get to it from the inside of the garage. This makes the laundry area a lot more spacious than if the garage started at the edge of the notch. But like I said, that area is currently filled with “stuff.” We need a serious organizing day. Or week, probably.

Anywho, there are already two cabinets above the washing machine and dryer, and to be honest, they have been working pretty well. There is also a lower cabinet that I haven’t opened in months, so hopefully I don’t find any creatures in there. Hopefully these won’t take a whole lot of work to bring up to par! Here’s a true before picture, like, right when we moved in and hadn’t filled it up yet.

img_1719

Pretty sweet, right?? The hubby has already peeled off the wall paper from the two biggest walls and the garage door wall. He has painted it a nice gray (which was originally going to be the color of our bathroom so we had it lying around). He has also removed the dropped ceiling panels, so now our garage has a vaulted ceiling. The eventual plan is to be able to store seasonal items on rafters, and hopefully we will reach that point during this challenge! So by the time the laundry area is done, the entire garage should be looking pretty nice! My mom and I spent about 2 hours peeling wallpaper off of the notched area this past spring. And we didn’t even get very far. So it’s safe to say I will avoid peeling the rest off at all cost. I get almost free reign over my design, but since this is the hubby’s garage I have to keep it mellow. No bright pinks or anything. Apparently that isn’t very cool… I have a pretty good idea of how I want to make over the laundry area, so I thought I would share some of my ideas with you.

*Click on each photo to be directed to the source.

I really love how this laundry room hides the clothes that need to be hung to dry. Especially since the garage can get dusty, this would keep clothes clean and fresh.

4

This color scheme is spot on! And I really like the idea of having rolling laundry carts. We have a laundry basket in our room, but we toss towels and dog laundry in the garage to keep our house smelling nice. These look crisp and organized! I also really want a hanging rack like this one. Not too sure how that would work with a curtain, so I might have to choose between those two options.

3

Oh, hello shiplap! So great of you to stop by and give me the perfect solution to hiding the wallpaper!

2

And lastly, I really just love this laundry room. I think it’s the colors and the warmth, and hopefully I can harness some of that feeling in ours.

1

And so we begin! By November 10th we should have a completely new space! Check back each Thursday for updates!

2 thoughts on “One Room Challenge! (Inspiration)

Comments