Patio Inspiration

I can’t believe how quickly this weekend flew by! We were super productive on all of our ongoing projects. I have to admit, I didn’t think we would get as far as we did. We hit a huge milestone on our bathroom remodel (more to come later!), I got to start my cabinet for the craft room, and we tore down the sunroom! To be honest, we still can’t quite figure out why the sunroom was constructed in the first place. It wasn’t like those wonderful, cheery rooms where you can have you nice family dinner on those hot summer days. No. It was like a cave of darkness that kept any light from coming into the house. But hey, maybe in its prime it had some good use out of it. Anyways, it’s gone! And it only took us two hours! Here’s a before and after shot for you to take in all its glory.

IMG_6688IMG_6692IMG_6694

Now, with all this space, we can really imagine what our future patio will look like! This space is a lot bigger than I previously thought, so we might not actually have to extend it out very far. We know that we definitely want to make the patio level with the dining room, and then step down onto the grass and (future) bar area. We also know that we want a little bit of shade over the patio, for a couple of reasons. One, it was super hot once the roof came off and we had to haul everything to the trailer (a whopping 86 degrees…I’m not ready for those 100 degree days…). Two, I really, really want to hang market lights across the top of the patio. Big dreams, right? That’s about as far as we have gotten! I’ve gotten together a few of my current inspirations. Enjoy!

I like the pergola because it will still let light through into the dining room. And that table is to die for!

We could totally do this with our patio doors too!

I really love the light feel of this patio area.

We could totally include a fire pit somehow. Maybe not a full fledged fireplace, but something!

Obviously I need to somehow include a swinging bench…

There are so many great ideas, I’m sure we will figure it out!

3 thoughts on “Patio Inspiration

Leave a Reply

