Desk Light

As I was perusing World Market the other day, I came across a really cool looking light. I passed on it for a couple of reasons. One, I wasn’t exactly sure where I wanted to put it, and two, the price. I know lighting can be pricey and all, but this one was seriously something I could make (and make it look good). After about five minutes contemplating where I could put it, I decided my craft room would be the perfect spot. There isn’t a great place right above my desk for a light, but there is a space to the left of the window.

world market light
The light at World Market that gave the inpiration

I followed the same method I used for my pendant lights and got all of my materials from the same shop, Snake Head Vintage. I did end up buying an LED light from Home Depot, just because I wanted to make sure the light was bright enough. Luckily they now have pretty globe lights that look antique, but with today’s technology.

I decided to go with the red wine/plum colored wiring, and opted for a socket with an on/off switch. I even got an antique plug! I only had to wait three days for everything to ship, so I quickly made the wall frame. I was surprised how easy it was! I slice a 1×6 board into three strips, each 1-1/2 inches wide. I made the mounting piece 8 inches long, the horizontal piece 5 inches long, and cut the brace piece to fit with 45 degree angles. I only used a screw to attach the horizontal piece. I used wood glue for the brace, since it is really just decorative. I stained it dark walnut, and voila!

IMG_1546

I put everything together in about 5 minutes once I got my wiring. I used a mounting bracket to hang it up, and now I have an additional light source in my craft room!

IMG_1553IMG_1554

3 thoughts on “Desk Light

  1. Awesome! I love it. I like the colored cord too! Cool bulb! Home Depot has stepped up its light bulb game! Well done on the fixture! Creative and economical! Smart! 🙂

Leave a Reply

