Table Top Part II

Remember when I put together the rustic table top for the wedding? It worked out perfectly by the way and the way the staff had it set up couldn’t have turned out better.

SJ&AG-Married-Web (556)SJ&AG-Married-Web (744)

Once the wedding was over, however, I had no clue what to do with it. It is too small to use for our (eventual) dining table, and we have no clue what our patio will end up looking like or when that project will even get going. So I decided I would incorporate it somehow into my craft room. I already have two tables in there, so instead of a table I decided to use it as a sign. I have always wanted a huge sign somewhere, and this was the perfect backdrop!

Deciding what to write on it was probably the hardest part of this whole project. Originally I was thinking a Dr. Seuss quote, but I couldn’t find one that really stuck with me and called my name. Or the ones I did love were too long. Then I considered a few song lyrics, mainly from Lady Antebellum. But they all seemed really sappy and cheesy once I wrote them down. I also thought about doing some sort of quote that would tie in with our bar someday, but the sign wouldn’t really be seen if you’re sitting at the bar (which is all already planned out in my head), so that didn’t make a whole lot of sense.

Then I finally had my a-ha moment! A quote from Bill Waterson’s Calvin and Hobbes! Definitely my favorite comic, and plenty of one-liners to choose from! In the end I chose “Weekends don’t count unless you spend them doing something completely pointless.” I was a little worried about the length, but it ended up fitting perfectly!

I wrote everything out with chalk before I painted the words on. My cursive is not very pretty, so it took me a few tries to get it right. I painted over my chalk words using two coats of acrylic, and voila! I attached some hanging hardware I found at Home Depot, and hung it up. I think it looks pretty great now, and once I paint the exterior of my craft room and finish my door, it’s going to be perfect!

IMG_6513IMG_6515

Leave a Reply

