Paint!

You guys. I am so excited about this post! I finally finished off the drywall (after a few long hours after work while procrastinating real housework)! And not only that, I painted them!!! Oh my gosh it’s a real room. Like really! Paint on the walls, laminate on the floor, and a window that works and lets in the breeze! Now I can really decorate! Of course, I still need to turn my door into a dutch door, which will be coming soon, but the big stuff is done and the room can finally be used for its true purpose – creating!!

Pre-painting stage
Pre-painting stage

IMG_6460

So first things first. I got a gallon of primer paint. I didn’t even have them mix in any color. I knew I needed to just cover up the drywall before I got more expensive paint. The drywall can really just soaks in the paint, so I thought it might take a lot more layers to cover. The walls were stark white! Obviously, I can’t just have white walls. I love how white rooms look, don’t get me wrong. I just know that I would get tired of them quickly. I always need some sort of color.

White walls!
White walls!

IMG_6467

IMG_6466
Don’t mind the very top edges…I’m filling those in tonight and that upper portion will just stay white

For the two regular walls, I chose a very light, creamy color. I found this awesome idea from iCreativeIdeas to use a broom to add some texture to the walls. It gives the walls a kind of streaky look without being overpowering. To be honest, I thought that the texture would show up a lot more, but I absolutely love how it turned out! The walls are neutral (which balances out the other two walls), but still have some character. Doesn’t it look great?!

IMG_6470

IMG_6469

Up close and personal to see the texture
Up close and personal to see the texture

For the back wall, I knew from the beginning of time that it was going to be a chalkboard wall. I toyed with the idea of slapping on some magnetic paint under the chalkboard paint, but decided it was too pricey and finicky. Especially since I don’t think I would use a magnetic wall a whole lot. If I want to have some sort of magnetic board in the room, I can always make one later and hang it up. Originally I was just going to paint the wall like a regular black chalkboard. Then I went to Lowes. Oh my gosh they have so many colors you can choose from! So there in the paint section, I decided to choose a different, vibrant color. Picturing what was done in the room already, I decided on a teal color to compliment the J on the wall. Plus, we have some teal/blue in our house, so if there’s anything that ties the craft room to the house, this was it. There were a few different shades of teal that I could choose from, but I went with a darker shade (not too dark though) so that white chalk would show up well. I love how it looks! I can’t get enough of it! What do you guys think of my finished* room?!?!

IMG_6468

IMG_6475

*Yeah, it will never actually be done. Like, ever.

Leave a Reply

