Pallet Wall

It’s done! It’s done! It took a whole lot longer than I thought it would, mostly because I just didn’t have time to even thing about my wall. But once I got going, it took maybe 2 weeks to finish! I was originally going to use real pallets, take them apart, lightly sand them, and then attach them to the wall, but then the lazy side of me kicked in. I tried taking the pallets apart, and for the life of me I can’t figure out how people take them apart so cleanly! There has to be some trick I missed. So instead of that, I went and bought a bunch of 1x4s and cut them into 4-foot long pieces. I also ended up getting a few 1x6s to change it up a bit, which I am really glad I did. Once I had them all cut, I stained each piece. I think in the end I ended up with 6 colors, including the natural pine. I never washed my brush though, so basically every piece ended up a slightly different color, which I really like!

Once I had them all stained, I started attaching them to the wall. I was going between using a nail gun and screwing them in, and decided to screw each piece of wood in. I know nails are secure and everything, but I really wanted to make sure. Plus, the screws give it that much more character. I made sure to “randomly” put each piece up, trying not to put two of the same color right next to each other. Looking at the wall now, it does look random. But I can also tell which boards are my favorite since I made sure to put them where they can be seen. The trickiest part was getting around the outlets. Lucky for me the bottom of the outlets lined up perfectly with a row of wood, so I really only had one row that was tricky. Measure twice, cut once, right?! I also had to attach an electrical box extender and some spacers to get the outlets flush with the wall. I probably should have planned for that ahead of time, but at least everything worked out!

IMG_3335

I really love how this wall turned out! It is starting to feel like a room now (pretty sure I said that when the floor went in and when the drywall went up…) and I love it! Next up is the window!

IMG_3350

IMG_3351
IMG_3353

Leave a Reply

