Mirror Upgrade

I was walking along the street the other day and came across a lovely little antique shop. I had seen it before, but every time I passed by it was closed. I was finally able to explore inside! This little shop made me so happy! It felt like a time machine back to the roaring 20s and the booming 50s. I loved it! And I don’t think I have ever had so many spurts of inspiration come all at once. In the end I bought this adorable full-length mirror with an oak finish. I didn’t have one at the house and was getting tired of trying to make the bathroom mirrors work somehow. I also knew instantly how I wanted to paint it to give it a little more character and charm, and also make it go with the rest of the house. I seriously love how it turned out!

Everything came unassembled, which made painting each part way easier. I laid everything out and decided I wanted to paint it using my acrylic paints and paper towels. I had just seen this method done on some Saturday morning show, and I liked how the paint was streaky and showed all of the different layers of paint. And also, I was short on paintbrushes…

Part of the unfinished legs
Part of the unfinished legs

I chose white as the first layer of paint. I think that using white in any piece makes it lighter, even if you barely see any of it.

First layer of paint on the mirror stand pieces
First layer of paint on the mirror stand pieces

I then chose a really pretty aqua color as the top layer. I wasn’t sure how thick the aqua would go on, but I ended up only needing one layer.

IMG_3309

The assembly was a breeze! None of those tricky IKEA instructions to follow…

The stand is complete!
The stand is complete!

Next up was the actual mirror. I had two options here. I could have taped the mirror to keep paint off of it and then painted the inside of the frame, or I could leave the inside of the frame with the oak finish. I decided to leave it with the oak finish. I was really nervous about getting the tape perfectly along the edge, since the mirror is oval, and there wasn’t a good way to remove the mirror completely (which is what I was hoping I could do). I think in the end I really like how it looks, so I am happy with the oak showing!

Unfinished
Unfinished
All done!!
All done!!
Check out these awesome eye hooks! Came with the mirror!
Check out these awesome eye hooks! Came with the mirror!

What do you guys think?!

2 thoughts on “Mirror Upgrade

Leave a Reply

