Mercury Glass

I m so excited to share this project with you! I have been saving jars for years now. Like, I have them stored in so many cabinets in 20 years I am still going to be finding them hidden all over. But I think I finally found a purpose for them! Some of them, at least! I have seen the mercury glass jars everywhere lately and I really like how they look. No way am I paying for them though. I came across Wedding Party’s post and could not believe how easy it looked. Like, all I had to buy was the mirror paint? Really? Totally worth the try. And the directions were so clear! I really don’t even have any tips, other than follow the directions. The directions say to wait a 30 seconds before blotting your glass after spraying it with the mirror paint, but when I did it, it took me about 30 seconds just to put down the spray paint and get some paper towels ready. So really, there isn’t any wait time. And these only take about 2 minutes to do each! So excited! I am going to spray so many jars, it’s going to be ridiculous. What do you guys think?

Supplies (plus water)
Supplies (plus water)
Sprayed with the water-vinegar mixture
Sprayed with the water-vinegar mixture
After the first round of paint, before dabbing anything off
After the first round of paint, before dabbing anything off
This jar has 3 layers of mirror paint, which might be a bit much for me
This jar has 3 layers of mirror paint, which might be a bit much for me
This jar only has 2 layers or mirror paint, which I think I like more
This jar only has 2 layers or mirror paint, which I think I like more
8 thoughts on “Mercury Glass

  1. This gives me a great idea to mimic a mirror that I couldn’t afford, but it became ridiculously long for a random comment. I’ve linked to your post and am writing all about it on my own blog instead. 🙂

Leave a Reply

