Shelf

The area above our computer has been naked basically since we put the computer there. We knew we wanted just a simple shelf, and that it would be super easy to do, we just kept procrastinating. Well, the BF is out of town so I thought I would surprise him!

Originally I wanted to use some of the reclaimed barnwood that we used for the barn doors, but the BF pointed out that the shelf wasn’t going to be a focal point and we could get away with using a much cheaper piece of wood. So I went to Home Depot and picked up a 1″x10″ that was long enough to span across the entire space. I also got a mahogany stain by Minwax, hoping it would at least be close to the barn door color. I brought it all home, sliced off the end to make it fit perfectly, and sanded down the edges. I wanted to keep the light we had hanging there, and somehow hang it from the shelf. So I drilled two holes along the top, one to string the wire up and another to bring it back down to hang. I wanted to make the holes tiny, but realized that the end of the wire was too big, so I had to make them a little bigger. You can’t see them though, so it worked out fine. I stained the board (which was the PERFECT color) and let it dry for about 10 minutes. I was a little bit impatient. And I wanted to go to sleep. I screwed in the supports, making sure that they wouldn’t be in the way of the light. Then I just laid the board on top and used tiny screws to secure the board to the supports. It looks so much better now! Now I just need to find stuff to put up there!

IMG_2088

IMG_2283

IMG_2922

IMG_2924

Leave a Reply

