Canvas Photo

One of the coolest, easiest crafts I have come around is transferring any picture to a canvas. Maybe someday I will do a photo that I take, but right now I’m a little obsessed with scenic pictures I’ve been finding on Google. Just a heads up, I saved these pictures to my computer about a year ago so I don’t know where they came from anymore. Sorry! Anyways, this is the easiest way I have seen it done, and I love how it turns out!

I wanted to do one of those pictures where it is split into 3 and then the canvases are hung side by side with a small gap between. It looks so artsy to me, and it takes up more wall space. I found a picture I liked and inserted it into PowerPoint. Make sure you mirror your image! I forgot until the end, so none of these first few shots show a mirrored image.

Full picture before cropping
Full picture before cropping

I then set the page to print an 54×24 paper (you can do any size, but I wanted 18×24 canvases) and turned the ruler and the grid lines. I then cropped the picture to make sure it was the right size and that I was able to capture everything I wanted. The biggest paper I can print on (without spending extra money) is 11x17s, so in order for this to work I needed to split the picture up so that there were 4 pieces per canvas, so 12 pieces total. I decided it would be easier to make all of the tiles of the picture the same size, so every tile is 9×12. I found a neat little trick – make a rectangle that is the size you need and then use it to kind of trace each tile of the picture.

*Note: After I layed everything out and went to see if the pictures fit onto each canvas, they were a little small. I don’t mind because I plan on roughing up the edges anyways, but if you want it perfect measure the canvases before (don’t trust the packaging) and make sure that when you print everything is set to the full extents, not shrunken at all.

Used the blue box as a kind of stencil to crop each tile of the picture
Used the blue box as a kind of stencil to crop each tile of the picture
All tiled
All tiled

On each edge of each tile that will be an edge of the canvas I extended the cropped portion just the slightest bit. I am hoping that this will prevent any border that might happen on each canvas. Hopefully this works…

Copy you tiled pictures into a new PowerPoint that is set to a page size of 11×17. The actual size of the tile shouldn’t change at all, but, of course, double check.

Put into an 11x17 sheet set up
Put into an 11×17 sheet set up

Using an ink-jet printer, print out your pictures. This is so that the Modge Podge doesn’t smear the ink on the page as it’s transferring.

IMG_2319

Cut out each tile, making sure that along the edges that meet there are not any white paper edges showing. Using Scotch tape, tape each tile together so that you get the full canvas-worth of the picture. Make sure to only tape on the back, and try not to use too much tape.

IMG_2318

Lay down some Saran Wrap and set the picture face up onto it. Put Modge Podge directly onto each picture. I started out by dipping my paintbrush into the Modge Podge but decided it was way easier to just pour a bunch onto the picture and spread it around with my paintbrush. Make sure that there is plenty of Modge Podge covering the picture. Some people say to cover the picture so much that you can’t even see it, but that would be about a gallon for this project, so I just made sure that it was on really thick. If there are any parts that barely have anything on it, chances are it won’t stick as much to the canvas and it will rub off in the end.

 

I didn't put Saran Wrap on this one. It was a learning experience for the next one. This one ended up with a lot more wrinkles
I didn’t put Saran Wrap on this one. It was a learning experience for the next one. This one ended up with a lot more wrinkles

Flip the canvas onto the picture. It was much easier with two people than one to make sure that it is pretty well lined up. Once you set it onto the picture, try to smooth out as much as you can, starting from the center of the canvas and working your way out. You really want to get rid of as many bubbles as possible. Holding onto the Saran Wrap and the canvas, flip it all over so that the back of the picture is now up. Continue smoothing it out, but try to not rip the picture at all. Peel off the Saran Wrap (it will be super easy). Then paint a layer of Modge Podge onto the back side of the picture. This layer was pretty thin. Let it sit for at least over night, preferably for a full 24 hours. I am always anxious so that’s about as long as I can wait.

Get a damp cloth and wipe away all of the paper. It will kind of clump up and off. Make sure that once you see the picture you don’t accidentally wipe that off. I am not very careful around the edges because I like a kind of rough look, but if you want it to be clean be careful. This part takes the longest, especially with bigger pictures. It probably took me about 3 hours per canvas.

Using the damp cloth to wet the canvas
Using the damp cloth to wet the canvas
Rubbing off the extra paper
Rubbing off the extra paper

Hang and enjoy!

IMG_2346

IMG_2345

*I did try doing one canvas the other way, where you lay the picture right side up onto the canvas. I didn’t really like it since you can’t see the canvas anymore, it just looks like you glued some print outs onto a canvas. Also, the lines from each paper really show up. Basically it looked like a kindergartner made it. I prefer the more rustic-y canvas texture. It was way easier though, as long as you don’t need more than one sheet of paper.

Leave a Reply

